Why do you really want to get married?

“Oooohhhh, I need to get married”, “When are we going to wear your aso-ebi?”…these are some of the typical sentences you hear when there’s a conversation involving a single lady or more. Typically, once you’ve graduated from school, the next ‘logical’  thing you’re expected to think about is marriage. The society begins to mount pressure on you, your parents ask, “when are you going to introduce us to that young man?” And so, you begin to see young ladies praying and fasting for a ‘life partner’ or showing up in events just to catch the eye of ‘Mr. Right’.

The thing is, does marriage have to be the next step in the cycle: write JAMB/A-Levels – gain admission into university – graduate from school – ??

Marriage is a totally big step and so many people have been pressured into entering into this great institution. It’s just when their feet are halfway in that they realize that they probably shouldn’t have gotten into it just yet. It’s not all negativity though, some people have great stories to tell.

So, why do you really want to get married?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by james on June 13, 2011 at 7:14 am

    I want to get married for different reasons. i want to get married because i want to share my life with the woman i love. I want to raise a family, i want to be loved by her and i want to love her too. i want to be responsible for her, care for her and support her and i want her to do the same for me. I feel that once you find that special person, marriage is the next step. It’s what God outlined for us.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ezinne Nto on June 13, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Hmmmmm……Sistas need to turn a deaf ear/blind eye to the pressure mounted by our society. In succumbing to it, many have found themselves in marriages that have turned out to be a living hell. Why do you think, many marriages this days are over before they even kick off? It’s difficult I know….especially when all your friends seem to be hooking up and making cute babies, all of a sudden you seem to be the only single one in the village. I’ll give the same advice i have given to self….being single ain’t no death sentence…enjoy yourself while you wait for God’s choice, empower yourself….better yourself…Love yourself…it will happen when it happens, not before, not after.

    Reply

  3. Posted by uche on June 16, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Y do I want to get married?hmmm…..like most people would say ‘I av seen d one’,’I love him’,’he loves me’,’he understands and can tolerate me’, ‘he is someone I can live with’…all dis aren’t left out…I neva looked 4 or wanted a man I could live with….I wanted a man I couldn’t live without and we have found eachother and have created something beautiful…they are other reasons including those stated above but this is my number one…

    Reply

  4. Hmmm, it’s great to see different perspectives on this issue. I think that before you decide to take this step into this institution, it should be given much thought.
    Like Ezinne said, there’s a lot of pressure on us by the society but we should learn to do things at our own pace. So if you have not joined this institution of marriage, I propose (no pun intended) that you just don’t stand on the pavement waiting for your ‘knight in shining armour’ or ‘Mr. Right’ but go ahead and you enjoy the wait, develop yourself and make yourself the best ‘you’ you can be. Make yourself the ‘Miss Right’ or ‘Princess-in-waiting’. Make yourself an asset to be desired and needed and not a liability to go in and get what you don’t have now out of that union. Don’t go into marriage looking for someone else to make you happy, you have to be that happy person yourself.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ome on June 21, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Sometimes, getting married is a matter of having my own space, at other times its about filling the empty space in my heart, most times its about not having to leave him at the end of the day and spend the next few hours thinking about him. I want to get married cos i’m ready to be that woman that my man has sought all his life. I wanna get married cos I just know that if its not him, it couldn’t be anyone else. I have been building and building myself so much that if i built anymore, I will be an exaggerated version of who God intended for me to be(lol). Trust me there’s always something new to learn about yourself and to build on, married or not. So build urself while you’re waiting but once you meet that ‘one’, dont put it off. Sometimes, its just time to get married, period! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Getting married is definitely one of the next levels. Like Ome said “sometimes, it’s just time to get married, period”, which made me smile too. Common, if anyone would say they never judged themselves/friends when marriage is delayed, that person wouldn’t be so honest with themselves, I’d say.

    For a lady the biological clock keeps ticking away and for a bloke, it’s more like he is not ready to be responsible. I was lucky my ‘Mr. Right’ came knocking before I felt ready to settle into a marriage, but thank goodness I knew it was time to say ‘YES’! Love indeed was the deciding factor, me for him and knew he for me.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Uche Murphy on July 20, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Well getting married is not a walk in the park , it is a very serious life time commitment ,when U̶̲̥̅̊ get married 4 D̶̲̥̅̊ wrong reason U̶̲̥̅̊ are bound to build a hell on earth , find the right partner n ur life will b a bed of roses a little thorns but Dats about it.
    One shld never be forced or pressured. Into it because those pressuring U̶̲̥̅̊ will not suffer the consequences WT U̶̲̥̅̊ .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

